## MINUTES COUNCIL ON UNIVERSITY PLANNING AND BUDGET May 12, 2006

| Voting Members Present: | Bill Addison, Sara Amyx, John Best, Sandy Bingham-Porter,<br>Kelli Brosam, Linda Coffey, Sandy Cox, Pat Fewell, Assege<br>HaileMariam, Mary Anne Hanner, Clay Hopkins, Doug Howell, |
|-------------------------|-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                         | William Joyce, Stacia Lynch, Christine McCormick, Godson                                                                                                                            |
|                         |                                                                                                                                                                                     |
|                         | Obia, Amy Price, Gary Reed, Kathy Reed, Charles Rohn,                                                                                                                               |
|                         | Jocelyn Tipton, Jane Wayland                                                                                                                                                        |
| Absent:                 | Mark Bates, Jonelle Depetro, Lynette Drake, Gary Fritz, Allen<br>Lanham, Gloria Leitschuh, Tim Mills, Cynthia Nichols, David<br>Radavich, Jillian Ruddy, Ray Watkins, William Weber |
|                         |                                                                                                                                                                                     |

Non-Voting Members Present: Julia Abell, Dan Nadler, Jill Nilsen,

## 1. Call to Order

Pat Fewell called the meeting to order.

### 2. Approval of Minutes of March 24, 2006

The minutes of March 24, 2006 were approved by acclamation with no changes

#### 3. Executive Committee Report:

Pat Fewell reported that the Executive Committee made the decision to hold the May CUPB meeting in order to discuss and vote on the revised Mission Statement.

# 4. <u>Subcommittee Reports:</u>

| Presidential Area:  | No report. |
|---------------------|------------|
| Academic Affairs:   | No report. |
| Business Affairs:   | No report. |
| External Relations: | No report. |
| Student Affairs:    | No report. |

# 5. <u>Reports</u>

- Legislative and/or Budget Update - Dr. Nilsen

Dr. Nilsen reported that the House and Senate adjourned on May 4, 2006. Senate Bill 1520 became the budget bill. EIU's budget is \$48,282,800 which is a 1.4 percent increase. Dr. Nilsen reported on several bills. One bill was passed that will prohibit smoking in all residence halls. Only two floors of our halls allow smoking, and Housing will contact those students about the passage of the bill.

### 6. Other Business

- Subcommittee report on the Mission Statement

A copy of the revised Mission Statement was distributed. Mary Anne Hanner reported that no specific initiatives, such as study abroad, were included because we have so many initiatives. Motion (Hanner/Obia): to accept the revised Mission Statement. Yes: Bill Addison, Sara Amyx, John Best, Sandy Bingham-Porter, Kelli Brosam, Linda Coffey, Sandy Cox, Pat Fewell, Assege HaileMariam, Mary Anne Hanner, Clay Hopkins, Doug Howell, William Joyce, Stacia Lynch, Christine McCormick, Godson Obia, Amy Price, Gary Reed, Kathy Reed, Charles Rohn, Jocelyn Tipton, Jane Wayland. Motion passed unanimously.

- Pat Fewell announced that Dean Rohn is retiring.

– Mary Anne Hanner thanked Pat Fewell for her service.

- The next meeting will be September 15, 2006.

## 7. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned.

Linda Coffey Council Member