MINUTES COUNCIL ON UNIVERSITY PLANNING AND BUDGET February 2, 2007

Voting Members Present: Bill Addison, Sara Amyx, Mark Bates, John Best, Teresa Britton, Kelli

Brosam, Levi Bulgar, Susan Bulla, Mona Davenport, Lynette Drake, Pat Fewell, Gary Fritz, Assege HaileMariam, Clay Hopkins, Doug Howell, Diane Jackman, Kenney Kozik, Allen Lanham, Stacia Lynch, Christine McCormick, Cynthia Nichols, Amy Price, David Radavich, Gary Reed,

Jocelyn Tipton, William Weber

Absent: Sandy Bingham-Porter, Linda Coffey, Mary Anne Hanner, Glenn Hild, James

Jordan-Wagner, Gloria Leitschuh, Carol Miller, Tim Mills, Kathy Reed,

Sheila Simons

Non-Voting Members Present:

Dan

Julia Abell, Doug Bock, Jeff Cooley, Judy Gorrell, Lou Hencken, Blair Lord,

Nadler, Jill Nilsen

1. Call to Order

Pat Fewell called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

2. Approval of Minutes of December 8, 2006

The minutes of the December 8, 2006 meeting were approved as written.

3. Executive Committee Report

Pat Fewell reported that the Executive Committee met on January 12 to set the agenda. Pat Fewell also reported that at a previous meeting she asked Mary Anne Hanner to chair the subcommittee to review the vision statement for the University. After Dean Hanner talked to the subcommittee and other personnel across campus, the subcommittee felt it would be more appropriate to wait until the new president is seated.

4. Proposals for Composition of CUPB

The proposals presented by the subcommittee were considered. Proposal #1, A and B, reduced the size of CUPB maintaining the constituencies currently represented. Proposal #2 is based on the number of fulltime employees within each vice presidential and presidential area in relationship to the total number of fulltime employees. Proposal #3 is based on the concept that current CUPB members are appointed or elected to represent existing constituents.

Motion: To consider each of the proposals. Yes – Addison, Amyx, Bates, Best, Britton, Brosam, Bulgar, Bulla, Davenport, Drake, Fewell, Fritz, Haile Mariam, Hopkins, Howell,

1 of 2 9/2/09 11:30 AM

Jackman, Kozik, Lanham, Lynch, McCormick, Nichols, Price, Radavich, G. Reed, Tipton, Weber; No – None.

Motion (McCormick/Radavich): Approve Proposal 1A with the addition of a representative from Minority Affairs.

Amendment (Howell/Jackman): Remove UPI and AFSCME representatives from Proposal 1A.

Yes – Addison, Amyx, Drake, Hopkins, Howell, Lanham, Lynch, Nichols, Price, G. Reed, Weber; No – Bates, Best, Britton, Brosam, Bulgar, Bulla, Davenport, Fritz, Haile Mariam, McCormick, Radavich, Tipton; Abstentions – Fewell, Jackman, Kozik. Amendment was defeated by a vote of 12 -- 11.

A vote was taken on the original motion. Yes: Addison, Amyx, Bates, Best, Britton, Brosam, Bulgar, Bulla, Fritz, Haile Mariam, Lynch, McCormick, Radavich, Tipton, Weber; No – Davenport, Drake, Hopkins, Howell, Jackman, Kozik, Lanham, Nichols, Price, G. Reed; Abstentions – Fewell. Motion carried by a vote of 15 – 10.

Pat Fewell will forward the recommendation to the President.

5. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:12 p.m.

Judy Gorrell Executive Secretary

2 of 2 9/2/09 11:30 AM