MINUTES COUNCIL ON UNIVERSITY PLANNING AND BUDGET February 20, 2009

Voting Members Present:	Sandy Bowman, Mona Davenport, Sarah Daugherty, Zack Doiron, Diane Jackman, Cay Kolling, Gloria Leitschuh, Tom Nierman, Cynthia Nichols, John Henry Pommier, Gary Reed, WandaKay Robinson, Jenny Sipes, Thomas Stevens
Absent:	Sandy Bingham-Porter, Teresa Britton, Gene Deerman, Karen Drage, Gary Fritz, Patricia Poulter, Denis Roche, Jocelyn Tipton, William Weber
Non-Voting Members Present:	Judy Gorrell, Blair Lord, Paul McCann, Dan Nadler, Jill Nilsen, Bill Perry

1. Call to Order

Dean Jackman called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

2. Approval of Minutes of December 12, 2008

Motion (Pommier/Nichols): Approve the minutes as corrected. <u>Facilities and Campus Master Plan Update</u>, b. ... the Ninth Street Hall. Yes: Bowman, Davenport, Daugherty, Doiron, Jackman, Kolling, Leitschuh, Nierman, Nichols, Pommier, Reed, Robinson, Sipes, Stevens, No: None. Motion carried.

3. <u>Executive Committee Report:</u>

Dean Jackman reported that the Executive Committee met on February 16 to set the agenda.

4. Subcommittee Reports

- a. <u>Presidential Area</u> No report.
- <u>Academic Affairs</u> John Henry Pommier reported that the subcommittee met on February 10. Provost Lord asked the Deans to undertake an exercise for next year – prepare a modest, 2% workforce reduction.
- c. <u>Business Affairs</u> No report.
- d. <u>External Relations</u> No report.
- e. <u>Student Affairs --</u> Sarah Daugherty, Zack Doiron, and Jenny Sipes reported on the following:
 - 1) There is exciting activity on Edgar Drive, as construction for the Textbook Rental Service facility has begun! Construction fences are up. Crews are working on the foundation and drilling wells for the building's geothermal system.
 - EIU Reads is entering its third cycle. <u>This I Believe</u>, a collection of the personal philosophies of extraordinary men and women, has been selected as the 2009-2010 EIU Reads text. Kimberlie Moock, Director of New Student Programs, and Bonnie Irwin, Dean

of the Honors College, work closely on this collaborative effort between Academic Affairs and Student Affairs. Meetings for EIU Reads facilitators began today.

3) EIU athletes are excelling both on the athletic fields and in the classrooms. The women's basketball team has the 7th highest GPA of any Division 1 women's basketball team in the nation; they also have one of the longest home winning streaks in the nation with 20

consecutive home wins. The women's basketball team will be hosting an OVC tournament game, while the men's basketball team will be playing on the road in the OVC tournament.

5. <u>Reports</u>

a. President's Report

Dr. Perry reported that Representative Ross is assisting the University to move forward with the design of the steam plant. The University will replace one natural gas boiler which can later be moved to the new facility. Gloria Leitschuh expressed appreciation to Dr. Perry for meeting with the citizens.

Dr. Perry discussed the Master Plan and reported that the University is in the process of selecting a consultant. The committee will be comprised of members from campus and the community. The Master Plan must align with the priorities and goals of the University.

Dr. Perry reported that the Emergency Management Drill was scheduled at 8:45 a.m. this morning in Buzzard.

b. Facilities

Steve Shrake from Facilities Planning and Management (FMP) gave an update on the projects that FMP is currently working on, which include the Textbook Rental Service, the Student Success Center, parking lot maintenance, Campus Master Plan, sprinklers in Stevenson, Steam Plant Replacement, and ESCo.

c. Legislative Update

Dr. Nilsen reported that the University catalog will no longer be printed but will be available online. The Office of External Relations is currently tracking 60 bills. Dr. Nilsen reminded the Council that on April 22 she will be taking students to Springfield.

6. Other Business

Dr. Perry asked that a Cost Containment/Savings Subcommittee be formed. The following people volunteered to serve on this subcommittee: Thomas Stevens, Cay Kolling, Cynthia Nichols, Thomas Nierman, and Gloria Leitschuh.

7. Adjournment

Motion (Doiron/Davenport): Meeting adjourned.

Executive Secretary