MINUTES COUNCIL ON UNIVERSITY PLANNING AND BUDGET March 2, 2012

Voting Members Present: Ahmid Abou-Zaid, Roger Beck, Angie Campbell, Ellen Corrigan, Sarah Daugherty,

Christine Edwards, Dave Emmerich, Mahyar Izadi, Diane Jackman, Andrew Lilek, Cynthia Nichols, John Poshepny, Gary Reed, Steve Rich, Kathlene Shank, Jenny Sipes,

Richard Wandling

Absent: Mona Davenport, Alexander Dresen, Cord Hackett, Gloria Leitschuh, Andrew

Methven, Darlene Riedemann,

Non-Voting Members Present: Amy Edwards, Judy Gorrell, Blair Lord, Robert Martin, Michael Maurer, Dan Nadler,

William Perry, William Weber

1. Call to Order/Introductions

Roger Beck called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

2. Approval of Minutes of February 10, 2012

Motion (Lilek/Rich): To approve the minutes as written. The motion carried, with an edit recommended by John Poshepny in the VPSA report to change "arm winter weather" to "warm winter weather."

3. Sub Committee Reports

<u>President's Report</u> – No report.

<u>VPAA Report</u> – No report.

<u>VPBA Report</u> – No report.

VPSA Report - No report.

VPUA Report – No report.

4. Administrative Informational Reports

a. Retirements (Paul McCann)

Paul McCann reported that approximately 100 people are eligible to retire.

b. <u>Pensions and Benefits (Linda Holloway)</u>

Linda Holloway and Patty Hood talked to the Council about pensions and benefit services. SURS has been on campus on two recent occasions to give an on-campus presentation. Of particular concern, is the question about the money purchase option which will change on July 2, 2012.

5. Old Business

a. Pension Forums

Mr. Ralph Martire, executive director of the Center for Tax and Budget Accountability. CTBA is a prominent non-partisan and progressive voice in evaluating Illinois' fiscal health and future. Martire will speak from 7 to 9 p.m. Monday, March 5, in Lumpkin Auditorium, and his presentation will address the Illinois budget, including education funding, tax reform and public sector pensions.

b. <u>Committee on Shared Governance at EIU (Universal Meeting Time)</u>

Motion (Poshepny/Lilek) Form a committee to study the Universal Meeting Time concept. Angie Campbell, Steve Rich, Richard Wandling, Jennifer Sipes, Kathleen Shank, and Andrew Lilek volunteered to serve on the committee.

- c. <u>EAB, Revenue-Generating Ideas</u>
- d. <u>Video Boards</u> Feedback has been received on the video boards and implementation will be moving forward. In addition to the video boards, internal signs have been placed in front of many buildings for identification.
- e. <u>Cost Containment</u> -- No report.

4. New Business

None

5. Adjournment

Motion (Poshepny/Lilek) to adjourn.

Judy Gorrell Executive Secretary