EIU Luis Clay Mendez Distinguished Service Award

One of the most prestigious honors available to EIU faculty, the Mendez Award was established in commemoration of the contributions of Foreign Languages department faculty member Luis Clay Mendez following his sudden passing in 2003. The award is presented each fall to the EIU faculty member or department chair who best exemplifies dedication and achievement in service to the university, their profession, and the community at large (local, state, national, international).


Dr. Heidi Larson (Counseling and Student Development), recipient of the 2017 Luis Clay Mendez Distinguished Service Award

2018 Luis Clay Mendez Distinguished Service Award 

Dr. Melissa Ames (English) has been awarded the 2018 Luis Clay Mendez Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Ames is recognized for her dedicated service to the English department, EIU, her profession, and the community. In addition to serving on numerous university, college, and English department committees, she has done exceptional work in organizing and leading the English Department summer camp over the last four years. She also regularly volunteers in the public school, having served as a literacy volunteer in the Champaign Public School System, as a PTA Secretary, and a Young Author’s Contest facilitator and judge. This involvement demonstrates another way in which Dr. Ames shares her expertise as a member of the university learning community with the wider public and clearly ties into the work she does in teaching and mentoring future teachers.



Past Recipients of the Luis Clay Mendez Distinguished Service Award

2017 - Dr. Heidi Larson (Counseling and Student Development)

2016 - Dr. Grant Sterling (Philosophy)

2015 - Dr. Linda Ghent (Economics)

2014 - Dr. Rebecca Throneburg (Communication Disorders and Sciences)

2013 - Dr. Andrew Methven (Biological Sciences)

2012 - Dr. William Addison (Psychology)

2011 - Dr. Kathlene Shank (Special Education)

2010 - Dr. Charles G. Eberly (Counseling and Student Development)

2009 - Dr. Les Hyder (Journalism)

2008 - Dr. Vincent Gutowski (Geology/Geography)

2007 - Dr. Charles Delman (Mathematics and Computer Science)

2006 - Dr. Debra Reid (History)

2005 - Dr. Patricia McCallister (Family and Consumer Sciences)

2004 - Dr. David Carpenter (English)