Eastern Illinois University Logo
LGBTQA WebCenter |

Gender and Sexual Diversity Advisory Committee

Home

LGBTQA Resource Center

Employment Opportunities

Safe Zone Project

LGBTQA+ at EIU

The Gender and Sexual Diversity Advisory Committee envisions a campus community that is committed to the creation of an open, safe, just, and inclusive environment for diverse persons of all sexual orientations and genders. Specifically, we envision a campus that:

  • Supports the developmental process, well-being, and retention of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and/or ally (LGBTQA+) students, faculty, and staff
  • Creates a positive and welcoming environment that contributes to LGBTQA+ students’ academic success
  • Values the experiences and contributions of LGBTQA+ individuals
  • Provides resources and referrals to address the very specific and unique needs of LGBTQA+ students, staff, and faculty, including recognizing diverse racial, ethnic, and cultural backgrounds
  • Educates the entire EIU community in an effort to address homophobia, heterosexism, and transphobia and how they intersect with race, ethnicity, religion, and culture

The Gender and Sexual Diversity Advisory Committee is comprised of members representing departments, programs, and services throughout Eastern Illinois University. Committee members are dedicated to aiding EIU in achieving this mission.

Gender and Sexual Diversity Advisory Committee

MemberDepartmentContact Info
Lynette Drake Health Services Department 217-581-7015
ldrake@eiu.edu
Terri Fredrick English Department 217-581-6289
tafredrick@eiu.edu

Allison Frees-Williams

Career Services 

217-581-6396
afreeswilliams@eiu.edu

Bradley Green University Development 217-581-5250
bjgreen@eiu.edu
Donna Hudson Sexual Assult & Counseling Services 217-348-5033
donna_sacis@consolidated.net
Angie Hunt HOPE 217-345-4300
alhunt_hope@yahoo.com
Rich Jones Communication Studies Dept.

217-581-3324
rgjones@eiu.edu

Amber May Alumni Services 

217-581-6616
ammay@eiu.edu

Paige Roberts Campus Ministries 217-581-8191

Elisabeth Steele Education Department 217-581-7862
easteele@eiu.edu
Jody Stone Housing and Dining 217-581-2515
jestone@eiu.edu
Jessica Ward (Chair) Office of Student Standards 217-581-3827
jward@eiu.edu
Yolanda Williams Office of Minority Affairs 217-581-7401
yvwilliams@eiu.edu