Eastern Illinois University Logo

NRHH Is...


About Us

Core Values


Diploma Frames


Housing and Dining Services

Contact Information


NRHH was established in 1965 as a service organization for NACURH, and EIU’s chapter was established in 1974, with the first induction held on November 22, 1974. The chapter inducted 25 members that year. Today there are 25 active members.

The EIU Chapter has a long and rich history. After being establish the National NRHH files were housed on EIU’s campus from 1974 to 1975. Later the NRHH National Office was hosted on campus from 1981 to 1983. The prestigious Richard Enochs Scholarship was also developed in 1978-79. This scholarship is still awarded today to a student leader.

Another highlight for EIU was in 1981 the NRHH pin was designed by Mark Hudson & the late Valerie Averill. This pin is still given to every member inducted across the country into NRHH. In 1983, NRHH received voting rights from RHA. In the same year EIU won School of the Year.

NRHH was bid in 1994 for Chapter of the Year. They won Chapter of the Month twice during the 1995-1996 academic year. In 1995 EIU’s NRHH Chapter won GLACUHO Chapter of the Year. They continued in 1996 by winning NACURH Chapter of the Year!

The EIU Chapter became the the The Louis V. Hencken Chapter of National Residence Hall Honorary in 2007 in honor of President Emeritus, Mr. Louis V. Hencken. Mr. Hencken started his EIU career in 1966 as an undergraduate student. He served as a RHA Adviser for many years, and continued to move through the Housing and Dining ranks until he became Director of Housing in 1975. Mr. Hencken then became Vice President of Student Affairs in 1992, and eventually took over as President of the University in 2001 until his retirement in 2007. Mr. Hencken is still active in the EIU community and currently serves as an instructor in the College Student Affairs Master's Program.