UMAC Media Relations

Press Release Archives

Contact Us

EIU Alumni Awards to be Presented During Homecoming


Recipients of the Eastern Illinois University Alumni Association’s 2013 alumni awards will be honored Saturday, Oct. 19, in conjunction with Homecoming activities.

Distinguished Alumni Awards will go to Barbara Baurer of El Paso, Ill.; Harry Frost of Paris, Ill.; Jonathan Gosse of Flossmoor, Ill.; Dennis Muchmore of Laingsburg, Mich. (formerly of Charleston); and Col. Robert Sinkler (ret.) of  Bettendorf, Iowa.

The Outstanding Young Alumnus Award recipient is David Cesar of St. Charles.  The Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award honoree is R. Scott Smith of Charleston.  The Distinguished Educator Award will be presented to Corey Duzan of Plainfield (formerly of Oakland).

For biographies of current and past award winners, please see here.

Established in 1973, the Distinguished Alumni Award is the most prestigious award bestowed by the Alumni Association. It is presented to individuals who have distinguished themselves in either academic or literary fields, business, public service and/or service to the university, and who, through their accomplishments and service, have brought prestige to their alma mater. Past recipients have included an Illinois governor, Oscar-nominated actors, an NFL head coach, a nuclear physicist, CEOs, educators at all levels and many others.

First presented in 1988, the Outstanding Young Alumnus Award is presented to alumni who are 35 or younger and have excelled in new careers and/or public service.

The Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award, established in 1988, is presented to alumni who have repeatedly displayed outstanding voluntary service to the university. In 2007, the name was changed to the Louis V. Hencken Alumni Service Award in honor of Eastern's retiring president, who held a variety of administrative positions at EIU for more than 40 years.

Established in 2004, the Distinguished Educator Award is presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in the field of K-12 education.