Eastern Illinois University Logo
LGBTQA WebCenter |

LGBTQA Advisory Committee

Home

LGBTQA Resource Center

LGBTQA Small Groups

EIU Pride

LGBTQA Alumni Network

Campus Resources

Finding Community

LGBTQA Frequent Questions

Informational Resources

State and National Resources

Donate and Support

Contact Us

The EIU LGBTQA Advisory Committee envisions a campus community that is committed to the creation of an open, safe, just, and inclusive environment for diverse persons of all sexual orientations and genders. Specifically, we envision a campus that:

  • Supports the developmental process, well-being, and retention of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and/or ally (LGBTQA) students, faculty, and staff
  • Creates a positive and welcoming environment that contributes to LGBTQA students’ academic success
  • Values the experiences and contributions of LGBTQA individuals
  • Provides resources and referrals to address the very specific and unique needs of LGBTQA students, staff, and faculty, including recognizing diverse racial, ethnic, and cultural backgrounds
  • Educates the entire EIU community in an effort to address homophobia, heterosexism, and transphobia and how they intersect with race, ethnicity, religion, and culture

The LGBTQA Resource Advisory Committee is comprised of members representing departments, programs, and services throughout Eastern Illinois University. Committee members are dedicated to aiding EIU in achieving this mission.

LGBTQA Advisory Committee

MemberDepartmentContact Info
Alex Borgens  EIU Pride Representative  aborgens@eiu.edu
Cameron Carrara LGBTQA Resource Center  217-581-7117
cmcarrara@eiu.edu
Jacob Deters  Housing and Dining - Greek Court  217-581-6887
jwdeters@eiu.edu
Lynette Drake Health Services Department 217-581-7015
ldrake@eiu.edu
Elizabeth Edwards Marketing and Creative Services  217-581-7400
eaedwards@eiu.edu
Tyler Fisher  Housing and Dining  217-581-5553
tsfisher@eiu.edu

Terri Fredrick

English Department

217-581-6289
tafredrick@eiu.edu

Allison Frees-Williams

Career Services 

217-581-6396
afreeswilliams@eiu.edu

Bradley Green University Development 217-581-5250
bjgreen@eiu.edu
Jason Haarmann EIU Pride Representative  jhaarmann@eiu.edu
Donna Hudson Sexual Assult & Counseling Services 217-348-5033
donna_sacis@consolidated.net
Angie Hunt HOPE 217-345-4300
alhunt_hope@yahoo.com
Rich Jones Communication Studies Dept.

217-581-3324
rgjones@eiu.edu

Tyler Kalahar  Student Community Service 

217-581-3967
tjkalahar@eiu.edu

Amber May Alumni Services 

217-581-6616
ammay@eiu.edu

Alicia Neal  Music Department 

217-581-2622
amneal2@eiu.edu

Paige Roberts Campus Ministries 217-581-8191
proberts@eiu.edu
Kelly Simmonds Human Resources Department 217-581-3514
kjsimmonds@eiu.edu
Elisabeth Steele Education Department 217-581-7862
easteele@eiu.edu
Jody Stone Housing and Dining 217-581-2515
jestone@eiu.edu
Jessica Ward Office of Student Standards 217-581-7693
jward@eiu.edu
Yolanda Williams Office of Minority Affairs 217-581-7401
yvwilliams@eiu.edu
Ben Wilburn Office of Minority Affairs bugandben@gmail.com