Louis V. Hencken Chapter of
National Residence Hall Honorary


NRHH is...

NRHH was established in 1965 as a service organization for NACURH. EIU’s chapter was established in 1974, with the first induction held on November 22, 1974. The chapter inducted 23 members that year. Today there are 23 active members.

The EIU Chapter has a long history and rich history. After being establish the National NRHH files were housed on EIU’s campus from 1974 to 1975. Later the NRHH National Office was hosted on campus from 1981 to 1982. The prestigious Richard Enochs Scholarship was also developed in 1978-79. This scholarship is still awarded today to a student leader. 

Another highlight for EIU was in 1981 the NRHH pin was designed by Mark Hudson & the late Valerie Averill. This pin is still given to every member inducted across the country into NRHH. In 1983, NRHH received voting rights from RHA. In the same year EIU won School of the Year.

NRHH was bid in 1994 for Chapter of the Year. They won Chapter of the Month twice during the 1995-1996 academic year. In 1995 EIU’s NRHH Chapter won GLACUHO Chapter of the Year. They continued in 1996 by winning NACURH Chapter of the Year!

NRHH Highlights for 2011-2012

  • Raised and donated  over $1,200 to support University Housing & Dining Scholarships 
  • Raised and donated $5,505.47 to Mills Foundation for Breast Cancer Research, which brings the Chapters 5 year total of donation to over $23,164.41.
  • Volunteered more than 100 hours of service to the local community.

Contact EIU's NRHH President Tyler Vollmer

  • NRHH Logo