UMAC Media Relations

Press Release Archives

Contact Us

EIU Student Damann Earns National Award for Compositional Music Piece


Earlier this spring, Eastern Illinois University music student Ben Damann won the Allen Strange Memorial Award for his work “Sarin,” a compositional piece for flute, narrator, and computer. For winning, Damann received a cash prize of $250 and recognition at the SEAMUS National Conference, held in Eugene, Oregon in late March.

SEAMUS is an acronym for the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States.

The Allen Strange Memorial Award, named for Allen Strange (1943-2008), is an annual national award celebrating the best undergraduate or high school electro-acoustic composition.

Damann is the second EIU student to win the award in recent years. Mitch Weakley won the same award in 2015.