

## **Staff Senate Minutes**

May 13, 2015 – 1:15 p.m.

7<sup>th</sup> Street Underground Loft, MLK Union

**Senators Present**: Suzann Bennett, Angie Campbell, Melissa Coleman, Tony Craven, Joann Daugherty, Susan DeRousse, Adam Due, Christine Edwards, Melissa Gordon, Jonathan Hunt, Christine Jenkins, Derek Light, Shawn Peoples, Leah Reynolds, Ryan Siegel, Cindy Starwalt, John Warner

Senators Absent: Renee Kerz

**Guests**: President William Perry, Paul McCann, Interim VP Business Affairs, Peggy Brown, newly-elected senator for non-negotiated (excluding non-negotiated trades)

Staff Senate hosted a reception for Dr. Perry to thank him for his service to EIU and to say goodbye. Senator DeRousse baked a cake for the occasion.

**Call to Order:** The meeting was called to order by President Edwards at 1:14 p.m.

**Approval of Minutes:** Motion to approve the April minutes was made by Derek Light. It was 2<sup>nd</sup> by Ryan Siegel. The minutes from the April meeting were approved.

**Treasurer's Report:** Current balance is \$296.04. \$295.00 will be transferred to the Homecoming Committee for the Blue-B-Q luncheon. Paul McCann will check the status of the transfer of matching funds from the President's account for this event.

## **Old Business:**

- 1. Discussion of Constitutional Amendments Senator Campbell questioned the reason for deleting the entire section relating to the original make-up of Staff Senate. Senator Peoples explained that there would be no problem finding documents in the Library Archives to see the original members. The original Constitution/Bylaws and all amendments will be sent to Booth Library Archives for inclusion in The Keep.
- 2. Election Results New senators are Peggy Brown, Non-negotiated (excluding non-negotiated trades), Lisa Walker, Administrative and Professional, Tony Craven, Non-Negotiated Trades, Joann Daugherty and Renee Kerz, Union 981.

## 3. Officer nominations -

Motion to open nominations for President was made by Senator Siegel;  $2^{nd}$  by Senator DeRousse. Shawn Peoples was nominated for President. Motion to close nominations for President was made by Senator Light;  $2^{nd}$  by Senator DeRousse.

Motion to open nominations for Vice President was made by Senator Sigel; 2<sup>nd</sup> by Senator DeRousse. Susan DeRousse, Joann Daugherty, and Leah Reynolds were nominated for Vice President; Motion to close nominations for Vice President was made by Senator Light; 2<sup>nd</sup> by Senator Warner.

Motion to open nominations for Secretary was made by Senator Sigel; 2<sup>nd</sup> by Senator Light. Susan DeRousse was nominated for Secretary; Motion to close nominations for Secretary was made by Senator Siegel; 2<sup>nd</sup> by Senator Light.

Motion to open nominations for Treasurer was made by Senator Sigel; 2<sup>nd</sup> by Senator Jenkins. Leah Reynolds, Angie Campbell and Suzann Bennett were nominated for Treasurer; Motion to close nominations for Treasurer was made by Senator Siegel; 2<sup>nd</sup> by Senator Warner.

**Adjournment:** Motion to adjourn was made by John Warner, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Angie Campbell. Meeting adjourned at 2:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Suzann Bennett, Secretary

Next Meeting: June 10, 2015, 7<sup>th</sup> Street Underground Loft, MLK Union, 1:15 p.m.