Internal Governing Policies


#89 - Radio-Television Center Board

Approved: July 27, 2005

Nomenclature changes: September 25, 2012

Monitor: Vice President for Academic Affairs


The purpose of the Radio‑Television Board shall be to review services, facilities, budget, educational programming, distant learning initiatives, and policies of the Radio and Television Center and advise as to whether the educational needs of the University are being met.  In no case shall the Board have any authority to exercise any control over the daily management or operation of the Center.


  1. The Board membership shall be composed of representatives from each of the following:

    A.  Voting members

         Two faculty selected by Faculty Senate for two year terms ending in alternate years

         Department of Journalism, chair or designee

         Department of Speech Communication,chair or designee

         Student, selected by Student Senate

         Professional (Radio/TV/News) appointed by Vice President for Academic Affairs

         Community representative from broadcast coverage area, appointed by Vice President
         for Academic Affairs

    B.  Ex officio, non-voting members

         Vice President for Academic Affairs

         Dean, College of Arts and Humanities

         Director, Radio and Television Center
  2. The officers shall be a Chairperson, a Vice-Chairperson, and a Secretary elected for a two-year term.  The Director of the Radio and Television Center shall be executive officer.  Secretarial services shall be provided by the Radio and Television Center.
  3. The Board shall hold regular meetings at intervals to be determined by the membership, but will meet at least two times each year.