EIU Distinguished Faculty Award

One of the most prestigious honors available to EIU faculty, the Distinguished Faculty Award is presented each spring to the faculty member or department chair who best exemplifies achievement in teaching/performance of primary duties, research/creative activity, and service.

Gary Aylesworth

2019 Distinguished Faculty Award

Dr. Newton Key (History) has been awarded the 2019 Distinguished Faculty Award. For almost three decades he has maintained an extraordinary record of teaching, research, and service at Eastern Illinois University. Among his colleagues and students, he has a reputation as an innovative and inspiring teacher, which has earned him teaching and mentoring awards. As an active scholar of Seventeenth Century England, Dr. Key coauthored a widely used textbook on early modern England, regularly publishes in his field, and serves as webmaster for the earlymodernengland blog. And while serving currently as the Director of EIU's Faculty Development & Innovation Center (FDIC), Dr. Key also serves on numerous other committees, generously sharing his time and expertise. We honor Dr. Key for his dedication, intellectual rigor, and care for his students and colleagues at Eastern Illinois University. 

Past Recipients of the Distinguished Faculty Award 

2018 Gary Aylesworth (Philosophy)
2017 Linda Ghent (Economics)
2016 Lynne Curry (History)
2015 William Addison (Psychology)
2014 Andrew S. Methven (Biological Sciences)
2013 Melanie Mills (Communication Studies)
2012 Bailey K. Young (History)
2011 David Raybin (English)
2010 Janet Marquardt (Art)
2009 David Radavich (English)
2008 Robert U. Fischer (Biological Sciences)
2007 Roger Beck (History)
2006 Ruth Hoberman (English)
2005 Roger Luft (Technology)
2004 John Best (Psychology)
2003 Luis Clay Mendez (Foreign Languages)
William G. Kirk (Psychology)
2002 David A. Carpenter (English)
George P. Sanders (Music)
2001 Bruce Guernsey (English)
2000 Gail J. Richard (Communication Disorders and Sciences)
1999 Susan Kaufman (Journalism)
1998 Frank McCormick (English)
1997 Marylin Lisowski (Early Childhood, Elementary and Middle-Level Education)
1996 Giles Henderson (Chemistry)
Ronald Gary Wallace (Geology/Geography)
1995 Bill Heyduck (Art)
1994 Robert N. Barger (Secondary Education and Foundations)
1993 Kandy Baumgardner (Zoology)
1992 M. Lee Steinmetz (English)
1991 Kipp C. Kruse (Zoology)
1990 Ruth Dow (Home Economics)
1989 Lawrence B. Hunt (Zoology)
James Quivey (English)
Robert B. Sonderman (Technology)
1988 Michael Goodrich (Zoology)
Richard Keiter (Chemistry)
1987 June M. Krutza (Art)
John David Reed (Journalism)
1986 Alan R. Aulabaugh (Music)
Catherine A. Smith (Music)
1985 Eugene B. Krehbiel (Zoology)
Donald F. Tingley (History)
1984 Jerome J. Rooke (Accountancy, Data Processing and Finance)
1983 Wayne Thurman (Speech Pathology and Audiology)
Lynn Edgar Trank (Art)
1982 E. Glendon Gabbard (Theatre Arts)
Lavern Hamand (History)
Leonard Wood (History and Cooperative Education)
1981 Joseph T. Connelly (Political Science)
Lucina P. Gabbard (English)
1980 Michael B. Leyden (Elementary and Junior High School Education)
Lawrence A. Ringenberg (Mathematics)
1979 Edward O. Moll (Zoology)
John E. Price (Music)